Skip to main content

How to watch SpaceX launch the private Ax-1 space station mission online

Update for April 9: SpaceX's Ax-1 private astronaut crew will dock at the International Space Station today at 7:45 a.m. EDT. You can watch it live in the window above and see our live mission updates

After docking, hatches will be opened between the spacecraft around 9:30 a.m. EDT (1330 GMT), with a welcome ceremony set for 10:05 a.m. EDT (1405 GMT).

Our original story, including the mission's original launch date, is below. 


Four people are scheduled to launch to space with Axiom Space's debut crewed mission, and you can watch many of the events live.

Liftoff on the historic Ax-1 mission is scheduled for Froday (April 8) at 12:05 p.m. EDT (1605 GMT), according to Axiom Space. On board a SpaceX Crew Dragon spacecraft and Falcon 9 rocket will be former NASA astronaut Michael López-Alegría and paying passengers Larry Connor, Mark Pathy and Eytan Stibbe.

Axiom will start a broadcast of prelaunch activities, launch and then docking at 8:40 a.m. EDT (1240 GMT). You can catch the broadcast at axiomspace.com (opens in new tab)  and its social media, possibly on the SpaceX website, and here at Space.com, if possible. 

NASA will also start its own broadcast at 10:45 a.m. EDT (1445 GMT) on NASA Television, the NASA app (opens in new tab), NASA social media and the agency’s website (opens in new tab). (The agency says (opens in new tab) its coverage will "join the joint Axiom Space and SpaceX broadcast", so it's possible that the same feed will be playing at all three entities.)

We've listed some of the major milestones below so you know the key moments to watch for during the broadcasts.

Photos: The first space tourists

Friday, April 1 - 1:00 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT)

This virtual press conference will feature Axiom leaders as well as the astronauts who will fly aboard Ax-1. The full list of participants includes:

You can tune in to watch the conference live at 1:00 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT) on Friday (April 1) here (opens in new tab), or at the YouTube video embedded below, courtesy of Axiom Space.

Tuesday, April 5, no earlier than (NET) 3 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT)

Pre-launch news conference, targeted for one hour after the launch readiness review. Coverage will be provided from Axiom Space, NASA and here at Space.com if possible. Participants include:

  • Dana Weigel, International Space Station deputy program manager, NASA 
  • Angela Hart, Commercial Low-Earth orbit (LEO) Program manager, NASA
  • Michael Suffredini, president and CEO, Axiom Space
  • Derek Hassmann, operations director, Axiom Space
  • Benjamin Reed, senior director, Human Spaceflight Programs, SpaceX 
  • Launch Weather Officer, 45th Weather Squadron, U.S. Space Force

The Ax-1 crew performs microgravity training ahead of their launch. (Image credit: Axiom Space)

Wednesday, April 6 

All the timings below are subject to change, depending on weather and technical factors.

The launch webcast begins at 8:40 a.m. EDT (1240 GMT) at Axiom Space, and 10:45 a.m. EDT (1445 GMT) at NASA. There may be coverage from SpaceX. We will also simulcast at Space.com if possible. Launch is expected at 12:05 p.m. EDT (1605 GMT). 

Assuming the launch goes on time, a post-launch media briefing is scheduled for NET 1:15 p.m. EDT (1715 GMT) with the following participants. Coverage will be available at Axiom Space, NASA and here at Space.com if possible. Participants include:

  • Kathy Lueders, associate administrator for space operations, NASA
  • Dana Weigel, International Space Station deputy program manager, NASA
  • Angela Hart, Commercial LEO Program manager, NASA
  • Michael Suffredini, president and CEO, Axiom Space
  • Derek Hassmann, operations director, Axiom Space 
  • Benjamin Reed, senior director, Human Spaceflight Programs, SpaceX 

TBD – In-Flight Event 

Axiom Space may run an in-flight event sometime after launch, but exact timing is not yet available. If it runs, we will simulcast here at Space.com if possible. This is what Axiom says about the event:

"Pending crew schedule and ground station coverage, Michael López-Alegría, Axiom Space vice-president and Ax-1 commander, will participate in an in-flight event from the Dragon spacecraft."

If the webcast does not run, Axiom will instead pivot to the next coverage opportunity, which is roughly two hours before the Dragon docks with the ISS.

Saturday, April 8 

Coverage of these events will be available at Axiom Space, NASA and here at Space.com if possible. All timings are approximate and subject to change, depending on how the mission is going.

  • 1 a.m. EDT (0500 GMT) – Webcast resumes and docking coverage begins.
  • 2:45 a.m. EDT (0745 GMT) – Docking.
  • 5 a.m. EDT (1000 GMT) – Hatch opening and crew arrival ceremony.

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace (opens in new tab). Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom (opens in new tab) or Facebook. 

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Elizabeth Howell
Elizabeth Howell

Elizabeth Howell, Ph.D., is a staff writer in the spaceflight channel since 2022. She was contributing writer for Space.com (opens in new tab) for 10 years before that, since 2012. As a proud Trekkie and Canadian, she also tackles topics like diversity, science fiction, astronomy and gaming to help others explore the universe. Elizabeth's on-site reporting includes two human spaceflight launches from Kazakhstan, three space shuttle missions in Florida, and embedded reporting from a simulated Mars mission in Utah. She holds a Ph.D. and M.Sc. in Space Studies from the University of North Dakota, and a Bachelor of Journalism from Canada's Carleton University. Elizabeth is also a post-secondary instructor in communications and science since 2015. Her latest book, Leadership Moments from NASA, is co-written with astronaut Dave Williams. Elizabeth first got interested in space after watching the movie Apollo 13 in 1996, and still wants to be an astronaut someday.