Skip to main content

SpaceX Demo-2 with Space.com! Tune in Fridays for weekly updates

Space.com is live and ready to take your questions today!

Every Friday at 1 p.m. EDT (1700 GMT) leading up to the launch of SpaceX's Demo-2 (opens in new tab) mission, Space.com staff writer Chelsea Gohd will go live to discuss the latest mission updates and take questions from social media.  

Demo-2 was originally scheduled to launch this past Wednesday (May 27), but bad weather caused the launch to delay to Saturday (May 30) at 3:22 p.m. EDT (1922 GMT). If the launch is delayed again, it will move to Sunday (May 31) at 3:00 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT). Stay tuned to Space.com (opens in new tab)for regular updates on the mission. 

This Demo-2 mission will launch veteran NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley to the International Space Station aboard SpaceX's Crew Dragon vehicle. While the spacecraft has successfully flown on an uncrewed test flight, this will be the craft's first crewed flight. This historic launch will also be the first crewed mission to orbit from the United States since NASA's space shuttle program ended in 2011. 

This week with SpaceX: 

Related: How SpaceX's Demo-2 mission works in 13 steps (opens in new tab)
In photos: 
SpaceX's Demo-2 Crew Dragon test flight with astronauts (opens in new tab)

You can watch these weekly update live on Space.com's Facebook page (opens in new tab). If you want to ask a question, you can either ask it live under the live Facebook video or you can ask your question on Space.com's social media pages including Facebook and Twitter (opens in new tab)

Follow Chelsea Gohd on Twitter @chelsea_gohd. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

(opens in new tab)

OFFER: Save 45% on 'All About Space' 'How it Works' and 'All About History'! (opens in new tab)

For a limited time, you can take out a digital subscription to any of our best-selling science magazines (opens in new tab) for just $2.38 per month, or 45% off the standard price for the first three months.

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Chelsea Gohd
Chelsea Gohd

Chelsea “Foxanne” Gohd joined Space.com in 2018 and is now a Senior Writer, writing about everything from climate change to planetary science and human spaceflight in both articles and on-camera in videos. With a degree in Public Health and biological sciences, Chelsea has written and worked for institutions including the American Museum of Natural History, Scientific American, Discover Magazine Blog, Astronomy Magazine and Live Science. When not writing, editing or filming something space-y, Chelsea "Foxanne" Gohd is writing music and performing as Foxanne, even launching a song to space in 2021 with Inspiration4. You can follow her on Twitter @chelsea_gohd and @foxannemusic.