Rocket Lab's Electron Launch Delayed as Bad Weather Looms
An Electron rocket by Rocket Lab stands ready for launch at the company's launch facility in New Zealand.
Credit: Rocket Lab

Update 12/13: Rocket Lab has once again delayed the launch of its Electron rocket due to weather. Company representatives say they will try again tomorrow (Thursday Dec. 14 in the U.S./Friday Dec. 15 in New Zealand).  

Update 12/11: The skies are clear for Rocket Lab to attempt the second test launch of it's Electron rocket. You can watch the launch live on Space.com, courtesy of Rocket Lab. Check the company's Twitter account for the most recent updates. 

Update 12/10: An attempt to launch the Electron rocket today (Dec. 11 in New Zealand) has been scrubbed due to weather and "orbital traffic," Rocket Lab representatives said on Twitter. The company will attempt to launch the rocket again tomorrow during the same time frame.

Update 12/8: Rocket Lab representatives said today on Twitter that they plan to execute the test launch no earlier than 2:30 p.m. New Zealand Time on Monday, Dec. 11, which is 8:30 p.m. EST on Sunday, Dec. 10.

Due to bad weather, the commercial startup Rocket Lab has delayed the second test launch of its Electron rocket.

The launch was scheduled to take place today (Dec. 7) from the company's private launch complex in New Zealand. The 4-hour launch window extended from 8:30 p.m. to 12:30 a.m. EST (0130 to 0530 GMT on Dec. 8), which is 2:30 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. New Zealand Time on Dec. 8.

With a 10-day launch window, Rocket Lab representatives said the company will attempt another launch during the same 4-hour window tomorrow. However, representative said bad weather forecasts extend through the weekend, so the launch could be delayed until at least Monday.

The company will provide a live stream of the launch on the startup's website, starting about 15 minutes before the rocket's anticipated launch.

While the company has not officially begun commercial operations, the rocket is carrying three small satellites for customers.  

Follow Calla Cofield @callacofield.Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+. Original article on Space.com.