Skip to main content

Space station crew will take their Soyuz spacecraft for a spin today and you can watch it live

The Soyuz MS-17 crew ship, which carried the Expedition 64 crew to the International Space Station on Oct. 14, 2020, is shown docked to the orbiting lab's Rassvet module on Oct. 18, 2020.
The Soyuz MS-17 crew ship, which carried the Expedition 64 crew to the International Space Station on Oct. 14, 2020, is shown docked to the orbiting lab's Rassvet module on Oct. 18, 2020. (Image credit: NASA)

Crewmembers of the International Space Station will take a brief spin in a Soyuz spacecraft today (March 19), relocating it to make room for the arrival of another Soyuz next month. And you can watch the whole thing live!

NASA astronaut Kate Rubins and two Russian cosmonauts, Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov, will undock the Soyuz MS-17 spacecraft today at 12:38 p.m EDT (1638 GMT), according to a statement from NASA. Live coverage will start at 12:15 p.m. EDT (1615 GMT), and you can watch it live here at Space.com, courtesy of NASA TV, or directly via the space agency

The trio will climb inside the Soyuz, undock it from the Earth-facing port of the station’s Rassvet module, which is primarily used for cargo storage and payload operations, and then fly it over to the space-facing Poisk port, where the crew will redock the vehicle at 1:07 p.m EDT (1707 GMT). The entire spaceflight will take approximately 30 minutes. 

Related: The International Space Station

This Soyuz maneuver is the first relocation flight since August 2019, and the 15th Soyuz redocking effort overall. The newly freed up Rassvet port will accommodate another Soyuz, which is due to launch toward the orbiting lab on April 9.

That incoming spacecraft will be carrying NASA astronaut Mark Vande Hei, who may remain on the space station for up to a year, and Russian cosmonauts Oleg Novitsky and Pyotr Dubrov.

Rubins, Ryzhikov and Kud-Sverchkov will return to Earth shortly after the newcomers arrive, departing the orbiting lab on April 17. They will travel in their trusty Soyuz MS-17 spacecraft, which originally launched them to the space station in October 2020.

Follow Samantha Mathewson @Sam_Ashley13. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook. 

Samantha Mathewson joined Space.com as an intern in the summer of 2016. She received a B.A. in Journalism and Environmental Science at the University of New Haven, in Connecticut. Previously, her work has been published in Nature World News. When not writing or reading about science, Samantha enjoys traveling to new places and taking photos! You can follow her on Twitter @Sam_Ashley13. 

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.