ISS Crew Successfully Redocks Soyuz Spacecraft

ISS Crew Successfully Redocks Soyuz Spacecraft
Expedition 10’s Soyuz TMA-5 spacecraft, with cosmonaut Salizhan Sharipov at the helm, pulls away from the ISS Pirs docking compartment during a 20-minute flight to redock the vehicle at the station’s Zarya control module.
(Image: © NASA TV.)

The tenth crew of the International Space Station (ISS) made a short spaceflight early Monday to move a Russian lifeboat to a new docking port and prepare the station for a pair of upcoming spacewalks.

Tucked inside their Russian-built Soyuz TMA-5 spacecraft, pilot Salizhan Sharipov and his ISS Expedition 10 crewmate Leroy Chiao deftly moved the spacecraft from the station's Pirs docking compartment to a new berth at the Zarya control module, its final resting place for the remainder of the crew's six-month mission.

Sharipov undocked the Soyuz lifeboat from Pirs at about 4:29 a.m. EST (0929 GMT) and minutes later backed away to a safe distance of about 98 feet (30 meters). He then flew the vehicle 45 feet (14 meters) over to the Zarya docking port and redocked at about 4:53 a.m. EST (0953 GMT).

The entire spaceflight took just 20 minutes. Chiao and Sharipov doffed their Russian-built Sokol spacesuits after docking and were expected to reenter the ISS at about 6:55 a.m. EST (1155 GMT) and return the station to normal operations.

While brief, the Soyuz redocking maneuver was essential for Chiao and Sharipov in order to clear the Pirs compartment for use during two spacewalks tentatively set for January and March of 2005. During those spacewalks, Chiao and Sharipov will install science and engineering equipment to the ISS exterior and prepare the station to receive a new European cargo expected to launch in the fall.

Monday's spaceflight marked the first time the Expedition 10 crew left the ISS unmanned since they arrived at the station on Oct. 16. The two astronauts will also leave the station devoid of humans during both of their upcoming spacewalks.

Initially slated to be used as an emergency lifeboat for ISS crews, Russia's Soyuz spacecraft are currently the only vehicles available for station crew exchange. NASA's space shuttle fleet has been grounded since the loss of Columbia and its crew on Feb. 1, 2003. The next shuttle flight to the ISS is slated to launch sometime between May and June of 2005.

Expedition 10's Soyuz relocation flight was the first port-to-port maneuver since ISS Expedition 4 crew Yury Onufrienko, Daniel Bursch and Carl Walz repositioned their Soyuz spacecraft on April 20, 2002.

                   ISS Expedition 10: Complete Coverage

Have a news tip, correction or comment? Let us know at community@space.com.