Skip to main content

Photos: Europe's Rosetta Comet Mission in Pictures

Comet 67P from 0.75 miles (1.2 km)

ESA/Rosetta/MPS for OSIRIS Team MPS/UPD/LAM/IAA/SSO/INTA/UPM/DASP/IDA

Rosetta’s OSIRIS narrow-angle camera captured this image of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko at 10:14 GMT from an altitude of about 0.75 miles (1.2 km) during the spacecraft’s final descent on Sept. 30.

Rosetta's Crash Site

ESA/Rosetta/MPS for OSIRIS Team MPS/UPD/LAM/IAA/SSO/INTA/UPM/DASP/IDA

This sequence of images was captured by Rosetta during its descent to the surface of Comet 67P/C-G on Sept. 30

Comet 67P from 7.3 miles (11.7 km)

ESA/Rosetta/MPS for OSIRIS Team MPS/UPD/LAM/IAA/SSO/INTA/UPM/DASP/IDA

Rosetta’s OSIRIS narrow-angle camera captured this image of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko at 05:25 GMT from an altitude of about 7.3 miles (11.7 km) during the spacecraft’s final descent on Sept. 30.

Comet 67P from 9.8 miles (15.5 km)

ESA/Rosetta/MPS for OSIRIS Team MPS/UPD/LAM/IAA/SSO/INTA/UPM/DASP/IDA

Rosetta’s OSIRIS wide-angle camera captured this image of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko at 02:17 GMT from an altitude of about 9.8 miles (15.5 km) above the surface during the spacecraft’s final descent on Sept. 30.

Comet 67P from 10 miles (16 km)

ESA/Rosetta/MPS for OSIRIS Team MPS/UPD/LAM/IAA/SSO/INTA/UPM/DASP/IDA

Rosetta’s OSIRIS narrow-angle camera captured this image of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko from an altitude of about 10 miles (16 km) above the surface during the spacecraft’s final descent on Sept. 29 at 9:20 p.m. EDT (Sept. 30 at 01:20 GMT).

Comet 67P from 10.8 miles (17.4 km)

ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM

Rosetta's NavCam took this photo on Sept. 29 at 8:59 p.m. EDT (Sept. 30 at 00:59 GMT), when Rosetta was 10.8 miles (17.4 km) from the center of the nucleus of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

Comet 67P from 11.2 miles (18.1 km)

ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM

Rosetta's NavCam took this photo on Sept. 30 when Rosetta was 11.2 miles (18.1 km) from the center of the nucleus of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

Comet 67P from 11.6 miles (18.7 km)

ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM

Rosetta's NavCam took this photo on Sept. 29 when Rosetta was 11.2 miles (18.7 km) from the center of the nucleus of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

Comet 67P from 12 miles (19.4 km)

ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM

Rosetta's NavCam took this photo on Sept. 29 when Rosetta was 12 miles (19.4 km) from the center of the nucleus of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

Comet 67P from 12.4 miles (20 km)

ESA/Rosetta/NAVCAM

Rosetta's NavCam took this photo on Sept. 29 at 6:53 p.m. EDT (22:53 GMT), when Rosetta was 12.4 miles (20 km) from the center of the nucleus of Comet 67P/Churyumov-Gerasimenko.

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.