Skip to main content

Watch live now! See the winter solstice great conjunction 2020 webcast by Slooh

Video courtesy of Slooh. Visit Slooh.com to snap and share your own photos from this live event, and interact with our hosts and guests, and personally control Slooh's telescopes.

Jupiter and Saturn will shine together in a winter solstice "Great Conjunction" of 2020 in what many are likening to an early "Christmas Star" tonight (Dec. 21) and you can watch it live online here, courtesy of the Slooh online observatory. 

The two planets will appear close to each other in the night sky about every 20 years, but they're conjunction in 2020 on Dec. 21 is the closest they've appeared since 1623. Even in that pairing, the conjunction wasn't visible to much of Earth. You have to go back 800 years to when the sight was last widely visible around the world. 

At 2 p.m. EST (1900 GMT) today, Slooh will offer a live webcast of the two planets as seen from the observatory's remotely operated telescopes in the Canary Islands. Tune in for this rare sight!

Great conjunction 2020: NASA tips to see Jupiter & Saturn as a Christmas Star

From Slooh:

Join our Great Conjunction Star Party Live on Monday, December 21st, starting at 2 PM EST. 

Other timezones: 11 AM PST ¦ 19:00UTC ¦ 12:30 AM IST 

Every 19.6 years, we enjoy a celestial event known as a Great Conjunction - when the two mightiest planets Jupiter and Saturn come together in the sky. This is the first to occur since Slooh launched in 2003 - so what better way to celebrate this rare event than with a Slooh Live Star Party! 

We'll have live streams from the Canary Islands observatory and several other locations as Jupiter and Saturn are separated by a mere 0.1° as they begin to set. 

The Great Conjunction coincides with the December Solstice. 

Members will be able to join a Zoom Star Party to interact directly with the Slooh team and other members as we watch the live image streams and discuss the event! Details on how to join it are at slooh.com

 #conjunction #greatconjunction #jupiter #saturn 

Subscribe to watch more live celestial events every week. 

Follow us on Social Media: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SloohLive/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Slooh
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/slooh/

   

   

Editor's note: If you snap an amazing night sky photo and would like to share it with Space.com for a story or photo gallery, send comments and images to spacephotos@space.com. 

Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.