Skip to main content

Blue Origin's 4th Reusable Rocket Launch and Landing in Photos

Return to Earth

Blue Origin

As on previous New Shepard test flights, the booster lands first on a pad at Blue Origin's West Texas proving grounds. Here, the booster's landing legs have deployed. Read our full story on Blue Origin's 4th successful launch.

Smooth Landing

Blue Origin

A view of New Shepard after its landing as its space capsule releases two drogue chutes ahead if its own landing. The booster landing occurred at 10:44 a.m. EDT (1444 GMT). Read our full story on Blue Origin's 4th successful launch.

One Parachute Down

Blue Origin

New Shepard's passenger capsule (unmanned on this flight) is seen with two of its three parachutes deployed. Testing how the capsule performs under the two-chute scenario was the main goal of the fourth test flight. Read our full story on Blue Origin's 4th successful launch.

Almost There

Blue Origin

The New Shepard capsule nears its landing. The capsule only needs one parachute to make a safe landing, according to Blue Origin representatives. It carries there, however, for redundancy. Read our full story on Blue Origin's 4th successful launch.

Touchdown!

Blue Origin

New Shepard's capsule landed back on Earth at 10:45 a.m. EDT (1445 GMT). Read our full story on Blue Origin's 4th successful launch.

Back on Earth

Blue Origin

Blue Origin's New Shepard booster and capsule are seen back on Earth after their successful fourth test flight on June 19, 2016. Read our full story on Blue Origin's 4th successful launch.

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.