'Constellation' trailer teases new 'action-packed space adventure' on Apple TV+

After surviving an explosion aboard the International Space Station, European Space Agency astronaut Jo Ericsson is thrust into a different, but no less life-threatening mission: to uncover the hidden history of space travel and recover all that she has lost.

That is premise of "Constellation," an "action-packed space adventure" coming to Apple TV+ on Feb. 21. The streaming service released the trailer for the eight-part series on Monday (Jan. 22).

"When I was up there, the only thing I could focus on was getting back to my daughter," Jo (Noomi Rapace of "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" fame) says in the preview. After scenes showing her reunited with Alice, though, we hear Jo frantically exclaim, "I need to go back to her!"

Related: Alexander Skarsgård to star in Apple TV+ sci-fi 'Murderbot' series

Noomi Rapace as ESA astronaut Jo Ericsson looks out the Cupola on the International Space Station in "Constellation." (Image credit: Apple TV+)

Created and written by Peter Harness ("Wallander," "The War of the Worlds") and directed by Emmy Award-winner Michelle MacLaren ("Shining Girls," "Breaking Bad"), the series also features Emmy Award nominee Jonathan Banks ("Breaking Bad," "Better Call Saul").

"I invented a machine we took into space ... and I saw something, but it seems like it doesn't want to be seen," says Banks as Henry, a Nobel Prize-winning physicist.

Apple describes "Constellation" as "an exploration of the dark edges of human psychology" that focuses on Jo as she discovers that, after returning to Earth, key pieces of her life seem to be missing.

The series also stars James D'Arcy ("Agent Carter," "Oppenheimer"), Julian Looman ("Emily in Paris," The Mallorca Files") William Catlett ("A Thousand and One," "The Devil You Know"), Barbara Sukowa ("Voyager," "Hannah Arendt"), and introduces Rosie and Davina Coleman as Alice. In addition to MacLaren who directs the first two episodes, "Constellation" is helmed by Oscar nominee Oliver Hirschbiegel ("Downfall," "The Experiment") and Oscar nominee Joseph Cedar ("Footnote," "Our Boys").

A view inside the International Space Station from the new series "Constellation," premiering on Apple TV+ on Feb. 21, 2024. (Image credit: Apple TV+)

"Constellation" was produced by Turbine Studios and Haut et Court TV with executive producers David Tanner ("Small Axe"), Tracey Scoffield ("Small Axe"), Caroline Benjo ("No Man's Land"), Simon Arnal ("No Man's Land"), Carole Scotta ("No Man's Land") and Justin Thomson ("Liaison"). MacLaren also executive produces, along with Rebecca Hobbs ("Shining Girls") and co-executive producer Jahan Lopes for MacLaren Entertainment. Harness executive produces through Haunted Barn Ltd.

The series was shot principally in Germany and was series produced by Daniel Hetzer ('Munich - Edge of War") for Turbine Studios, Germany.

"Constellation" premieres on Feb. 21, with the first three episodes, followed by one episode weekly, every Wednesday through March 27 on Apple TV+.

Follow collectSPACE.com on Facebook and on Twitter at @collectSPACE. Copyright 2024 collectSPACE.com. All rights reserved.

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Robert Z. Pearlman
collectSPACE.com Editor, Space.com Contributor

Robert Pearlman is a space historian, journalist and the founder and editor of collectSPACE.com, an online publication and community devoted to space history with a particular focus on how and where space exploration intersects with pop culture. Pearlman is also a contributing writer for Space.com and co-author of "Space Stations: The Art, Science, and Reality of Working in Space” published by Smithsonian Books in 2018. He previously developed online content for the National Space Society and Apollo 11 moonwalker Buzz Aldrin, helped establish the space tourism company Space Adventures and currently serves on the History Committee of the American Astronautical Society, the advisory committee for The Mars Generation and leadership board of For All Moonkind. In 2009, he was inducted into the U.S. Space Camp Hall of Fame in Huntsville, Alabama. In 2021, he was honored by the American Astronautical Society with the Ordway Award for Sustained Excellence in Spaceflight History.