Beaver Moon lunar eclipse 2021: Here's how to watch it online tonight

Update for 6:20 am ET: The Beaver Moon partial lunar eclipse has ended. Our wrap story with videos is here. You can check out amazing photos of the Beaver Moon lunar eclipse in our gallery.

You can watch an ultra-long lunar eclipse online in the wee hours of Friday (Nov. 19) from one of several websites.

The so-called Beaver Moon lunar eclipse will start at 1:02 a.m. EST (0602 GMT), and the moon will be 97% covered by Earth's shadow at its peak. The eclipse will end at 6:03 a.m. EST (1203 GMT)

While the event will be visible from North and South America, Australia, and parts of Europe and Asia, you can also catch it online if you are clouded out. If you do have good weather, our guide on how to photograph a lunar eclipse, as well as how to photograph the moon with a camera in general, can help you make the most of the event. If you need imaging gear, check out our best cameras for astrophotography and best lenses for astrophotography to help prepare for the next eclipse.

Here are the broadcasts we know of so far:

Beaver Moon Lunar Eclipse from Griffith Observatory

The Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles will feature a timelapse video of the eclipse, weather permitting, on its YouTube page (opens in new tab). The timelapse will start at 9 a.m. EST (1400 GMT/6 a.m. PST), with an online broadcast beginning before that on Friday, Nov. 19 at 1 a.m. EST (0600 GMT/ 10 p.m. PST on Nov. 18)

The park will not be open during the eclipse due to the pandemic, the observatory said in a statement (opens in new tab).


Beaver Moon Lunar Eclipse from Time and Date

Time and Date (opens in new tab) will start its livestream on YouTube at 1 a.m. EDT (0600 GMT) on YouTube. 

"Our live coverage is your perfect companion to this eclipse, whether it's visible from your location or not," TimeandDate said in the video description. "Follow the eclipse from start to finish with us right here."


Beaver Moon Lunar Eclipse: Virtual Telescope Project

The Virtual Telescope Project will broadcast live from Rome starting at 2 a.m. EDT (0700 GMT)

"As in the past, the Virtual Telescope Project will partner with some great astro-imagers from all around the planet to bring to you the stunning beauty of such a precious event," the organization said on the event page (opens in new tab)


Astronomical Society of South Australia

The Astronomical Society of South Australia will have broadcasts on YouTube (opens in new tab) or Facebook (opens in new tab) starting at 4:30 a.m. EST (0930 GMT or 7 p.m. local time)

"Our network of imaging telescopes located in South Australia, Victoria and Queensland, and further away if necessary, will provide the best opportunity to view this special celestial event regardless of local weather conditions," the society stated on its event page (opens in new tab).

If we learn of more webcasts for the Beaver Moon lunar eclipse, we'll add them here. Happy eclipse viewing!

Editor's Note: If you snap an amazing night sky picture and would like to share it with Space.com's readers, send your photos, comments, and your name and location to spacephotos@space.com.

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook. 

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Elizabeth Howell
Staff Writer, Spaceflight

Elizabeth Howell, Ph.D., is a staff writer in the spaceflight channel since 2022. She was contributing writer for Space.com (opens in new tab) for 10 years before that, since 2012. Elizabeth's reporting includes an exclusive with Office of the Vice-President of the United States, speaking several times with the International Space Station, witnessing five human spaceflight launches on two continents, working inside a spacesuit, and participating in a simulated Mars mission. Her latest book, "Why Am I Taller?", is co-written with astronaut Dave Williams. Elizabeth holds a Ph.D. and M.Sc. in Space Studies from the University of North Dakota, a Bachelor of Journalism from Canada's Carleton University and (soon) a Bachelor of History from Athabasca University. Elizabeth is also a post-secondary instructor in communications and science since 2015. Elizabeth first got interested in space after watching the movie Apollo 13 in 1996, and still wants to be an astronaut someday. Mastodon: https://qoto.org/@howellspace