Skip to main content

Amazing Photos of the Super Blood Wolf Moon of 2019!

Eclipse Progression

Tony Corso

Astrophotographer Tony Corso created this composite image showing the progression of the total lunar eclipse from South Carolina.

Almost to Totality!

Griffith Observatory

In this view of the lunar eclipse, captured just a few minutes before totality, the moon is almost entirely covered by Earth's penumbral shadow, with only a sliver of the moon's bright, sunlit limb still in view.

Behold: The Blood Moon!

Griffith Observatory

The moon takes on a deep-red shade as the total lunar eclipse begins at 11:41 p.m. EST on Jan. 20 (0441 GMT on Jan. 21).

Totality

Theresa Tanner

Theresa Tanner captured this image of the lunar eclipse from Alberta, Canada.

Blood Moon in Vegas

Tyler Leavitt

Astrophotographer Tyler Leavitt captured this photo of the total lunar eclipse from Las Vegas.

A Blood Moon Over Florida

Melissa Arrant

Melissa Arrant captured this photo of the lunar eclipse from Lynn Haven, Florida.

An Orange Moon

James Kain

James Kain captured this photo of the moon looking bright orange during the total lunar eclipse on Jan. 20-21, 2019 in Reston, Virginia. “Despite a few earlier clouds, I decided to venture outside with -5 degrees Fahrenheit (-21 degrees Celsius) wind chills in order to capture a view and subsequent photograph of the Super Wolf Blood Moon,” Kain told Space.com in an email.

Earth's Shadow Takes a 'Bite' of the Moon

Griffith Observatory

Earth's umbral shadow appears to take a bite out of the moon in this view of the partial lunar eclipse on Jan. 20, 2019 at 11 p.m. EST (0400 GMT on Jan. 21).

Enter the Umbra

James McCue/The Virtual Telescope Project

James McCue of The Virtual Telescope Project shared this view of the partial phase of the lunar eclipse during a live webcast on Jan. 20 at 11:21 p.m. EST (0421 GMT on Jan. 21).

A Lemon in the Sky

Griffith Observatory

The moon looks like a lemon slice in this view of the partial lunar eclipse on Jan. 20, 2019 at 11:16 p.m. EST (0416 GMT on Jan. 21).

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Hanneke Weitering is an editor at Space.com with 10 years of experience in science journalism. She has previously written for Scholastic Classroom Magazines, MedPage Today and The Joint Institute for Computational Sciences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. After studying physics at the University of Tennessee in her hometown of Knoxville, she earned her graduate degree in Science, Health and Environmental Reporting (SHERP) from New York University. Hanneke joined the Space.com team in 2016 as a staff writer and producer, covering topics including spaceflight and astronomy. She currently lives in Seattle, home of the Space Needle, with her cat and two snakes. In her spare time, Hanneke enjoys exploring the Rocky Mountains, basking in nature and looking for dark skies to gaze at the cosmos.