Russian module launching to space station today. Here's how to watch live

Update: Russia has successfully launched the Prichal module to the International Space Station. It will dock at the Nauka module at on Nov. 26.


A new Russian module will launch toward the International Space Station (ISS) on Wednesday morning (Nov. 24), and you can watch the action live.

A modified Progress cargo craft topped with the Prichal docking module is scheduled to lift off atop a Russian Soyuz rocket from Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan Wednesday at 8:06 a.m. EST (1306 GMT). You can watch it live here and on the Space.com homepage courtesy of NASA, or directly via the space agency (opens in new tab). NASA's live coverage will begin at 7:45 a.m. EST (1245 GMT).

The Progress will deliver Prichal to the ISS on Friday (Nov. 24). The new module will dock automatically with Russia's Nauka multipurpose module Friday at 10:26 a.m. EST (1526 GMT), if all goes according to plan.

Related: International Space Station at 20: A photo tour 

Nauka is a relatively new addition as well, reaching the orbiting lab on July 29. Nauka's arrival was full of unwanted drama; the module's thrusters fired in an unplanned fashion after docking, causing the ISS to rotate about 540 degrees.

A similar incident occurred on Oct. 15, when the thrusters on Russia's Soyuz MS-18 crew spacecraft continued firing after the conclusion of a planned pre-departure test. That event spun the station by about 57 degrees, according to Russian news reports.

The 4-ton, spherical Prichal, whose name is Russian for "pier," will provide five additional docking ports to the Russian segment of the ISS, according to RussianSpaceWeb.com, which describes the module in great detail (opens in new tab)

Mike Wall is the author of "Out There (opens in new tab)" (Grand Central Publishing, 2018; illustrated by Karl Tate), a book about the search for alien life. Follow him on Twitter @michaeldwall (opens in new tab). Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom (opens in new tab) or on Facebook (opens in new tab)

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Mike Wall
Senior Space Writer

Michael Wall is a Senior Space Writer with Space.com (opens in new tab) and joined the team in 2010. He primarily covers exoplanets, spaceflight and military space, but has been known to dabble in the space art beat. His book about the search for alien life, "Out There," was published on Nov. 13, 2018. Before becoming a science writer, Michael worked as a herpetologist and wildlife biologist. He has a Ph.D. in evolutionary biology from the University of Sydney, Australia, a bachelor's degree from the University of Arizona, and a graduate certificate in science writing from the University of California, Santa Cruz. To find out what his latest project is, you can follow Michael on Twitter.