Skip to main content

Atlas V rocket rolls out to launch pad with GOES-T weather satellite for NASA, NOAA (video replay)

A United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket carrying an advanced new weather satellite for the United States rolled out to its launch pad today (Feb. 28), and you can watch a video replay from its morning trip. 

The Atlas V rocket carried the GOES-T weather satellite for NASA and the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) to its pad at Space Launch Complex 41 of Florida's Cape Canaveral Space Force Station for a planned launch on Tuesday (March 1). Liftoff is set for 4:38 p.m. EST (2138 GMT). 

You can watch the rocket rollout in the video replay above, courtesy of the NASA Edge program, or directly from YouTube (opens in new tab)

Video: How NOAA's GOES-T weather satellite will launch on Atlas V
Related: Advanced GOES-T weather satellite to launch with instrument fix

"GOES-T will help meteorologists observe and predict local weather events, including thunderstorms, tornadoes, fog, hurricanes, flash floods and other severe weather," NASA officials wrote in a mission update today (opens in new tab)

NASA will provide a live webcast of the GOES-T launch on Tuesday starting at 4 p.m. EST (2100 GMT). 

Editor's note: This story was updated at 5 p.m. EST on Feb. 28 with news that rollout had finished.

Email Tariq Malik at tmalik@space.com or follow him @tariqjmalik. Follow us @SpacedotcomFacebook and Instagram

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Tariq Malik
Tariq Malik

Tariq is the Editor-in-Chief of Space.com and joined the team in 2001, first as an intern and staff writer, and later as an editor. He covers human spaceflight, exploration and space science, as well as skywatching and entertainment. He became Space.com's Managing Editor in 2009 and Editor-in-Chief in 2019. Before joining Space.com, Tariq was a staff reporter for The Los Angeles Times covering education and city beats in La Habra, Fullerton and Huntington Beach. He is also an Eagle Scout (yes, he has the Space Exploration merit badge) and went to Space Camp four times as a kid and a fifth time as an adult. He has journalism degrees from the University of Southern California and New York University. To see his latest project, you can follow Tariq on Twitter.