Skip to main content

How to watch NASA's DART spacecraft crash into an asteroid live online today

It's time to get ready to watch a spacecraft slamming into an asteroid.

You can watch all the action from NASA's Double Asteroid Redirect Mission (DART) live here at Space.com and on NASA TV (opens in new tab), including on impact day today (Sept. 26). In the weeks leading up to the impact, you can also tune in to media briefings on the mission's goals and progress.

DART will slam into Dimorphos, the moonlet of a near-Earth asteroid called Didymos. If successful, the spacecraft will alter the path of Dimorphos in its orbit around Didymos; just how much Dimorphos' orbit changes will be confirmed in the months and years after impact.

The mission aims to test out planetary defense methods in a safe environment, as the activities pose no threats whatsoever to Earth. Here's how you can follow the action live.

Related: NASA's DART asteroid-impact mission explained in pictures

Monday, Sept. 26: 5:30 pm ET - NASA DART Draco camera live views

NASA's DART asteroid impact webcasts on Sept. 26 begin in earnest with live images from the spacecraft's Draco imaging camera streaming live online. 

The camera will broadcast live imagery as it comes in until impact, when it and the DART spacecraft will be destroyed.

Monday, Sept. 26: 6 pm ET - DART asteroid impact webcast

Live coverage of DART's impact will start at 6 p.m. EDT (2200 GMT). You can see it live here at Space.com, on NASA TV and on the agency's website (opens in new tab). In addition to live coverage, NASA has also arranged for a separate video stream (opens in new tab) dedicated to sharing real-time images from the spacecraft's DRACO camera as it approaches the asteroid.

The public also can watch live on agency social media accounts on FacebookTwitter, and YouTube. Impact will occur at 7:14 p.m. EDT (2314 GMT).

An artist's rendering of the DART spacecraft and the binary asteroid pair Didymos and Dimorphos. (Image credit: NASA/Johns Hopkins APL/Steve Gribben)

In the days surrounding the impact, you can also catch live coverage of the mission on various NASA social media accounts:

Sept. 26: 8 pm ET - NASA DART asteroid impact briefing

At 8 p.m. EDT (0000 GMT), NASA will hold a press conference to review the impact by DART on the asteroid Dimorphos. 

The briefing will include details on how the impact occurred and when the first images could be shared. 

DART won't only be doing science on its own; about 10 days ahead of impact it will release a small cubesat called LICIACube, built by the Italian Space Agency. The cubesat will watch the impact in real time and send Earth images of the brand new crater.

The European Space Agency will launch a follow-up surveyor mission in 2024, called Hera. That spacecraft will study the two asteroids in greater detail, including checking up on the impact crater and measuring the physical structure and chemical composition of the double worlds.


Past event: Monday, Sept. 12: 9 am ET - NASA DART Media Day briefing

NASA plans to host a hybrid media day at the Applied Physics Laboratory "focused on the technology enabling the DART spacecraft to autonomously navigate to and impact its target asteroid." That event will kick off with a media teleconference about the DART mission, its goals and status.

NASA has not yet shared a list of speakers for the event, but you can watch live on NASA TV beginning at 9 a.m. EDT (1300 GMT).

Past event: Tuesday, Sept. 22: 3 pm ET - NASA DART press conference

NASA will hold a media briefing at 3 p.m. EDT (1900 GMT) at NASA Headquarters in Washington to discuss DART's final activities before impact. The briefing will be available to watch on NASA TV and here at Space.com.

  • Katherine Calvin, Chief Scientist and Senior Climate Advisor, NASA
  • Lindley Johnson, Planetary Defense Officer, NASA
  • Tom Statler, DART Program Scientist, NASA
  • Edward Reynolds, DART Project Manager, Johns Hopkins APL
  • Elena Adams, DART Mission Systems Engineer, Johns Hopkins APL

Tune in on Monday, Sept. 26, to see live coverage of NASA's DART asteroid impact starting at 5 p.m. EDT (2100 GMT).

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Elizabeth Howell
Staff Writer, Spaceflight

Elizabeth Howell, Ph.D., is a staff writer in the spaceflight channel since 2022. She was contributing writer for Space.com (opens in new tab) for 10 years before that, since 2012. As a proud Trekkie and Canadian, she also tackles topics like diversity, science fiction, astronomy and gaming to help others explore the universe. Elizabeth's on-site reporting includes two human spaceflight launches from Kazakhstan, three space shuttle missions in Florida, and embedded reporting from a simulated Mars mission in Utah. She holds a Ph.D. and M.Sc. in Space Studies from the University of North Dakota, and a Bachelor of Journalism from Canada's Carleton University. Elizabeth is also a post-secondary instructor in communications and science since 2015. Her latest book, Leadership Moments from NASA, is co-written with astronaut Dave Williams. Elizabeth first got interested in space after watching the movie Apollo 13 in 1996, and still wants to be an astronaut someday.