Skip to main content

You Can Watch a US Military Satellite Launch Into Space Tonight! Here's How.

Update: The launch was delayed due to technical issues; today's launch window extends to 9:05 p.m. EDT (0105 GMT on March 16).

The U.S. Air Force will launch its newest communications satellite for American military forces today (March 15) and you can watch the action live. 

A United Launch Alliance Delta IV medium rocket will launch the new WGS-10 military satellite from a pad at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station on Florida's Space Coast. Liftoff is scheduled for 7:11 p.m. EDT (2311 GMT). 

You can watch the launch live here, courtesy of a ULA webcast. You can also follow the launch directly via ULA here (opens in new tab). ULA's webcast will begin at 6:49 p.m. EDT (2249 GMT). 

Related: The Latest Military Space News and Launches (opens in new tab)

The WGS-10 advanced communications satellite for the U.S. military's Wideband Global SATCOM constellation is seen during launch preparation activities. (Image credit: United Launch Alliance)

WGS-10 is the latest entry in the Air Force's Wideband Global SATCOM communications network (opens in new tab), a constellation of military satellites designed to serve American soldiers around the world. 

"WGS provides communication connectivity across all mission areas, including air, land and naval warfare," Air Force officials said in a statement (opens in new tab). The system is controlled from the U.S. Air Force's 4th Space Operations Squadron at Schriever Air Force Base in Colorado, the added, and"delivers reliable and secure communications services worldwide 24 hours a day, seven days a week as a vital military asset to the U.S. and Allied forces."

Launch Photos: Delta IV Launches WGS-9  Satellite for U.S. Military (opens in new tab)

The first WGS satellite launched in 2007. WGS-9, the most recent satellite to join the network, launched in 2017 (opens in new tab). The satellites have an estimated cost of about $340 million each, according to Via Satellite (opens in new tab)

"WGS-10's launch is another giant step for military communications,"   said Steven Hayden, the U.S. government's WGS program manager. "I am very proud to be a member of this team, and I’m looking forward to a successful launch."

ULA initially planned to launch today's mission on Wednesday (March 13), but postponed the flight two days to allow extra checks on the Delta IV medium launch vehicle.

Visit Space.com today at 6:30 p.m. EDT (2230 GMT) for live coverage of the WGS-10 satellite launch. 

Email Tariq Malik at tmalik@space.com or follow him @tariqjmalik. Follow us @Spacedotcom and Facebook. 

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.

Tariq Malik
Tariq Malik

Tariq is the Editor-in-Chief of Space.com and joined the team in 2001, first as an intern and staff writer, and later as an editor. He covers human spaceflight, exploration and space science, as well as skywatching and entertainment. He became Space.com's Managing Editor in 2009 and Editor-in-Chief in 2019. Before joining Space.com, Tariq was a staff reporter for The Los Angeles Times covering education and city beats in La Habra, Fullerton and Huntington Beach. He is also an Eagle Scout (yes, he has the Space Exploration merit badge) and went to Space Camp four times as a kid and a fifth time as an adult. He has journalism degrees from the University of Southern California and New York University. To see his latest project, you can follow Tariq on Twitter.