Partner Series

Visit Slooh.com to learn to explore space.

Wednesday (Jan. 31) at 5:45 a.m. EST (1045 GMT), the astronomy broadcasting service Slooh will air a free webcast following the Super Blue Blood Moon lunar eclipse, with expert live commentary beginning at 7 a.m. EST (1200 GMT). Watch the webcast live here, courtesy of Slooh.com, or directly from Slooh.com here. The total lunar eclipse will be visible starting just after 7:50 a.m. EST (1250 GMT). Preview: Super Blue Blood Moon 2018: When, Where and How to See It

Editor's note: If you capture a great shot of the Super Blue Blood Moon or any other night sky view that you would like to share with Space.com for a possible story or gallery, send images and comments in to: spacephotos@space.com.

From Slooh:

On January 31st, the Supermoon Trilogy we've been experiencing since December will end with a bang, combining a supermoon, a blue moon, and a total lunar eclipse. Slooh will livecast the entire eclipse, starting at 5:45 AM EST | 2:45 AM PST | 10:45 UTC. Its duration is a projected 5 hours, 17 minutes, with the total phase lasting 1 hour, 16 minutes, starting just after 7:50am EST.  Our team of experts will be on hand live starting at 7:00am EST to share the fascinating science, ancient lore, and human stories behind lunar eclipses - that most captivating of celestial events - as well as supermoons and blue moons. The eclipse will be partially visible from western North America, and fully visible from Hawaii, Australia, and parts of Asia. Slooh will feature live feeds from partners in Hawaii, Australia, New Zealand and Asia.

"This is the first total lunar eclipse since September 28, 2015 and it has been almost seven years since the Moon entered Earth’s umbral shadow as deeply as this one," says Slooh Astronomer Paul Cox.  The next total lunar eclipse will be on July 27, 2018. Total lunar eclipses are often referred to as "blood moons" because of the reddish color the moon assumes during its total phase, and this one promises to have a vibrant and ruddy hue. This trilogy of large full moons is not rare, but a wonderful cosmic rhythm - supermoons generally come in threes. When a full moon occurs when the moon is near its closest to Earth in its elliptical orbit (termed perigee), we call it a "supermoon".

The winner and runners-up of the first Fenimore Cooper Prize for Eclipse Writing will also be announced during the livecast. Slooh launched this contest in August to commemorate the 2017 Transcontinental Solar Eclipse; read all of the finalists’ submissions in January’s Best of Illuminations. Slooh will also describe its recently awarded National Science Foundation grant to further develop its platform for learning to explore space. "The NSF grant supports our expansion into schools with our Slooh Classroom product for K-12 and our Slooh Astrolab product for college students", says Dr. Paige Godfrey, Director of Research and Education at Slooh, and principal investigator of the NSF funded proposal.

Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+