Partner Series

The online Slooh Community Observatory will host a live webcast tonight (June 20) to discuss the summer solstice coinciding with the full moon for the first time since 1948, with the show beginning at 8 p.m. EDT (0000 GMT). Watch live here, courtesy of Slooh. You can go to Slooh.com to join and watch this live broadcast, snap and share your own photos during the event, chat with audience members and interact with the hosts, and personally control Slooh's telescopes. The webcast will also appear below, courtesy of Slooh.
Preview Story: Rare Summer Solstice Full Moon, 1st Since 1948, Rises Tonight: Watch It Live

From Slooh: 

"On Monday, June 20th, at 8:00 PM EDT, 5:00 PM PDT, 00:00 UTC (International Times), viewers will be treated to a rare event as the Full Moon rises on the same day as the Summer Solstice, an event which hasn't occurred for nearly 70 years. Slooh will webcast the event live from its flagship observatory at the Institute of Astrophysics in the Canary Islands.

"The show marks the start of a collaboration between Slooh and Science Channel to promote live astronomy. 'For several years, Slooh has been committed to awakening societal celebration of the solstices and the equinoxes,' says Michael Paolucci, Founder of Slooh. 'What better way to expand the party than inviting Science Channel, and on such a momentous occasion, when North America will bask in more sunlight than any day since Truman was President.'

"During the broadcast, Slooh host, Paul Cox will be joined by Slooh Astronomer Bob Berman to discuss this rare astronomical combination, including why it's been so long since the last one, when such a combination is mathematically predicted to happen every 15 years.

"'Having a full moon land smack on the solstice is a truly rare event,' says Berman. 'We probably won't push people off pyramids like the Mayans did, but Slooh will very much celebrate this extraordinary day of light with fascinating factoids and amazing live telescope feeds.'

"Also joining the broadcast is Janice Stillman, editor of The Old Farmer's Almanac. She will dive into the Almanac's archives to explore the importance of the Solstice as a seasonal celebration in cultures across the world and throughout history.

"Slooh will also feature elements of the Summer Solstice ritual it performed at the Wanderlust Yoga Festival in advance of the show.

"And for viewers interested in the fine art of photographing the Moon from their own backyard, renowned astrophotographer Robert Reeves will showcase some of his most impressive work featuring the same Celestron equipment that any budding astronomer can buy."

Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+