The 100 Most Amazing Space Photos of 2017

Pleiades star cluster

Glimmering through a dusty nebula that surrounds the Pleiades star cluster is the faint spiral galaxy UGC 2838, visible in the bottom-right corner of this photo by astrophotographer Miguel Claro.

[Read more]

Southern Lights Shine at South Pole Alongside Milky Way

"With the solstice coming up and marking the half point through winter, it's kind of sad to think we will lose this beautiful night sky soon," astrophotographer Hunter Davis told Space.com. Come early August, the sun will once again appear on the horizon at his location in Antarctica.

[Read more]

Full Pink Moon and violinist

The full Pink Moon rises behind a violinist on April 11, 2017 in this amazing photo by veteran astrophotography Miguel Claro. The image was taken in Borba, Alentejo in Portugal.

[Read]

Thunder moon in NYC

Chirag Upreti

An airplane passes over New York City and the full Thunder Moon on July 9 at 8:50 p.m. EDT (0050 GMT on July 10).

[
Read more]

Aurora Spotted by an Astronaut

ESA/Flickr

Thomas Pesquet, a European Space Agency astronaut on the International Space Station, captured vivid views of auroras crossing Earth's surface and a sunrise from orbit.

[Read more]

Andromeda among Cloud Formations

Astrophotographer Rogelio Bernal Andreo took this image of the Andromeda Galaxy among cloud formations from California in December 2016.

[Read more]

Thunder moon in South Carolina

The full Thunder Moon appears to perch atop a wooden cross in this photo taken from the Belin Memorial United Methodist Church in Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, on July 9 at 9:06 p.m. EST (0106 GMT on July 10).

[Read more]

Moon Occults Aldebaran

Gowrishankar L.

Gowrishankar L. photographed the moon's occultation of Aldebaran from the Anthony Wayne Recreation Area near Doodletown, New York, on March 4, 2017.

[Read more]

Thunder Moon & Empire State Building

Gowrishankhar L.

The full Thunder Moon rises behind the tip of the Empire State Building in New York City on July 8 at 10:56 p.m. EDT (0256 GMT on July 9).

[Read more]

Sounding Rocket in Jersey

Chris Bakley photographed the sounding rocket launch from Stone Harbor, New Jersey.

[Read more]

Have a news tip, correction or comment? Let us know at community@space.com.