New International Space Station Crew Launches Today: Watch It Live

Expedition 53/54
Expedition 53/54 crewmembers (left to right) Joe Acaba, Alexander Misurkin and Mark Vande Hei pose for a photograph outside the Soyuz simulator ahead of their Soyuz qualification exams on Aug. 31, 2017, at the Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Center in Star City, Russia. (Image credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls)

Three Expedition 53 crewmembers will blast off to the International Space Station today (Sept. 12), and you can watch the liftoff live.

NASA astronauts Mark Vande Hei and Joe Acaba will join Russian cosmonaut Alexander Misurkin in the Soyuz MS-06 spacecraft, which is slated to lift off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan at 5:17 p.m. EDT (2127 GMT). You can watch a live stream of the launch here on beginning at 4:30 p.m. EDT (2030 GMT), courtesy of NASA TV.

The trio will take the fast-track path to the space station, arriving at 10:57 p.m. EDT this evening, 5 hours and 40 minutes after the launch (0257 GMT on Sept. 13). You can watch live coverage of the Soyuz docking, too, starting at 10:15 p.m. EDT (0215 on Sept. 13). [Space Station Photos: Expedition 53 Mission Crew in Orbit]

By compressing flight tasks, crews going to the International Space Station can make the trip in one-eighth the time. See how Russia's fast-track 6-hour Soyuz flights to the space station work in this infographic. (Image credit: Karl Tate, Infographics Artist)

After the Soyuz spacecraft is docked to the station's Poisk module, the crew will open the hatch early Wednesday morning (Sept. 13) at about 12:40 a.m. EDT (0440 GMT). Then, they'll greet their new roommates and co-workers, three inhabitants who arrived at the space station in July: NASA astronaut Randy Bresnik, cosmonaut Sergey Ryazanskiy and the European Space Agency's Paolo Nespoli.

Vande Hei, Acaba and Misurkin will spend about five months at the space station, where they "will continue work on hundreds of experiments in biology, biotechnology, physical science and Earth science aboard the International Space Station, humanity's only permanently occupied microgravity laboratory," NASA officials said in a statement. They astronauts will start out working on Expedition 53 and transition over to Expedition 54 in the spring.

This will be Vande Hei's first mission to space; he was selected as an astronaut in 2009. He has also served as an aquanaut aboard the Aquarius underwater laboratory during the NEEMO 18 mission. Acaba, who was NASA's first Puerto Rican astronaut candidate, is an experienced space traveler with one space station expedition and one space shuttle flight under his belt. Misurkin previously completed one space station expedition.

Return to today for complete coverage of the Expedition 53 crew launch. 

Email Hanneke Weitering at or follow her @hannekescience. Follow us @SpacedotcomFacebook and Google+. Original article on

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at:

Hanneke Weitering
Contributing expert

Hanneke Weitering is a multimedia journalist in the Pacific Northwest reporting on the future of aviation at and Aviation International News and was previously the Editor for Spaceflight and Astronomy news here at As an editor with over 10 years of experience in science journalism she has previously written for Scholastic Classroom Magazines, MedPage Today and The Joint Institute for Computational Sciences at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. After studying physics at the University of Tennessee in her hometown of Knoxville, she earned her graduate degree in Science, Health and Environmental Reporting (SHERP) from New York University. Hanneke joined the team in 2016 as a staff writer and producer, covering topics including spaceflight and astronomy. She currently lives in Seattle, home of the Space Needle, with her cat and two snakes. In her spare time, Hanneke enjoys exploring the Rocky Mountains, basking in nature and looking for dark skies to gaze at the cosmos.