Skip to main content

Hurricane Harvey: Photos of the Massive Storm from Space

Harvey’s Strongest Storms

NASA JPL/Ed Olsen

NASA’s Aqua satellite captured this infrared image of Tropical Storm Harvey within an hour of its landfall in southwestern Louisiana on Aug. 30. The purple shade indicates the strongest storms.

From Above

JackFischer/NASA via Twitter

Astronaut Jack Fischer captured this image of Tropical Storm Harvey from International Space Station, sending wishes of hope and sunshine to those affected by the storm.

CloudSat Sees Tropical Storm Harvey in 3D

NASA/JPL-Caltech/CIRA

NASA's CloudSat satellite flew over Tropical Storm Harvey on Aug. 26 as the storm was nearly stationary over south Texas. Large amounts of liquid and ice water (denoted by the red and pink colors) are visible beneath the cloud tops. Small cumulus and cumulonimbus clouds are seen north of the area of moderate to heavy precipitation. The cirrus canopy (anvil clouds) extends outward from the storm system (shown in blue and green colors).

Harvey Rainfall on Aug. 27

NASA Scientific Visualization Studio

NASA’s Global Precipitation Mission (GPM) Core Observatory captured these images of Hurricane Harvey on Aug. 27 at 6:45 a.m. CDT (1145 GMT) and 4:25 p.m. CDT (2125 GMT), nearly two days after the storm made landfall in Texas. The image shows rain rates derived from GPM's Microwave Imager (right) and dual-frequency precipitation radar (left) overlaid on enhanced infrared data from NOAA’s GOES East satellite.

Join our Space Forums to keep talking space on the latest missions, night sky and more! And if you have a news tip, correction or comment, let us know at: community@space.com.