Partner Series

Tonight, Jan. 1, at 9 p.m. EST (0100 Jan. 2 GMT), the astronomy broadcasting service Slooh will air a free webcast about largest full moon of 2018, the January's supermoon Wolf Moon. Watch the one-hour webcast live here, courtesy of Slooh.com, or directly from Slooh.com here. Refresh this page if the video is not displaying. (Note: Refresh this page if the video does not display above at start time.)Preview: New Year's Day Full Moon: Are 'Supermoons' Really That Super?

Visit Slooh.com to learn to explore space.

Editor's note: If you capture a great shot of the supermoon or any other night sky view that you would like to share with Space.com for a possible story or gallery, send images and comments in to: spacephotos@space.com.

Observing Guide and Resources

News stories

From Slooh:

On January 1st, at 6:00 PM PST | 9:00 PM EST | 02:00 UTC, Slooh will be pointing its telescopes to capture the brightest moon of the year, the 2nd installment of the Supermoon Trilogy. Tune-in live as hosts Dr. Paige Godfrey and Helen Avery share this moment of wonder and inspire the audience to celebrate the New Year outdoors under a Full Supermoon.

Renowned voice-over actor and Slooh member Roger Craig Smith shares our inspiration for the #supermoonchallenge

So, what are you doing this Supermoon? Send your video, written thoughts, audio recordings, show or tell us how you are capturing the Moon magic with #supermoonchallenge on Twitter and Facebook, and/or email us at editor@slooh.com.

 Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+