Partner Series

To learn and explore space, visit Slooh.com.

The online observatory Slooh.com will host a free live webcast Sunday, Jan. 20 to follow the spectacular Super Blood Wolf Moon of 2019. Watch it live here, courtesy of Slooh.com, beginning at 10:30 p.m. EST (0330 GMT).Watch it live here in the window above, courtesy of Slooh, or directly on Slooh.com here

More Resources: 

Super Blood Wolf Moon Eclipse of 2019: Complete Guide

Here's the Weather Forecast for the Super Blood Wolf Moon of 2019 Tonight!

Super Blood Wolf Moon of 2019! Visibility Maps for the Total Lunar Eclipse

How to Photograph the Super Blood Moon Lunar Eclipse of 2019!

Blood Moon 2019: Use Mobile Astronomy Apps to Plan Your Lunar Eclipse Party!

From Slooh:

Winter Weather Threatens Viewers, Slooh Provides Alternative For Blood Moon Viewing
Weather will create poor viewing conditions to see the first and only total lunar eclipse in 2019.

WASHINGTON DEPOT, Conn. Jan. 20, 2019 - On Sunday, January 20, at 7:30 PM PST | 10:30 PM EST | 03:30 UTC, Slooh will begin coverage of the January 2019 Total Lunar Eclipse. The eclipse, sometimes known as a blood moon, will be the first and only total lunar eclipse of 2019.

Due to Winter Storm Yoshi, weather forecasts across the United States predict mediocre or poor viewing conditions. However, Slooh will still broadcast coverage of the Total Lunar Eclipse through the usage of Slooh flagship observatory in the Canary Islands as well as the Prescott Observatory in Arizona. During the show, Slooh’s resident astronomers Paul Cox and Dr. Paige Godfrey will be joined by Slooh storyteller Helen Avery to discuss not only the science behind the lunar eclipse but also the cultural impact of this astronomical event.

“We know that both lunar and solar eclipses are the result of the natural, cyclic rotations and orbits of the Sun, Earth and Moon in relation to one another. It must be a full moon for a total lunar eclipse to take place and the Earth must pass directly between the Sun and the Moon,” says Dr. Paige Godfrey. “For a period of several hours, light from the Sun (the reflected source of the Moon’s glow) is obstructed. We stream it live so that people from around the world, no matter their geographical location, can witness this phenomenon together.”

“Weather is always unpredictable and can have significant consequences for the unprepared. Fortunately, our network of telescopes and partnerships means that users can experience these cosmic events with little disruption.” Adds Slooh Communications Manager George Moser in response to the weather.

Numerous scholars throughout human history have written on the subject, such as Shakespeare likening an eclipse to a fault that mirrors human inconsistency.

Event Details


Event Timing:

Live Stream starts: 7:30 PM PST  ¦ 10:30 PM EST ¦ 03:30 UTC

Live Stream ends: 10:15 PM PST  ¦ 01:15 AM EST ¦ 06:15 UTC

International Timing: Available Here


TO WATCH Slooh's live coverage:

https://www.slooh.com/shows/situation-room

SHARE the Facebook Live event from Slooh’s Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/

Editor's note: If you snap an amazing comet photo and would like to share it with Space.com for a story or photo gallery, send comments and images to spacephotos@space.com. 

Follow us @Spacedotcom, Facebook and Google+